TealInfo User's Manual

Chapter 1 - Introduction

Thank you for trying TealInfo, the powerful information display and data presentation system, perfect for product catalogs, manuals, customer databases, technical data, movie guides, or any other lists, documents, or tabular information. Use it to read and utilitize the vast library of existing TealInfo document and utility “folios”, or develop your own interactive applications and reference works, all with no programming.

TealInfo browses flexible TealInfo data folios, which are interactive documents of organized tables, lists, and windows, complete with advanced user interface elements such as outlines, images, forms, hyperlinks and popup lists.

Folios can be downloaded from the ever-growing library of available titles (most are free), or created from scratch without programming using a text editor and the command-line utility MkTlInfo.

This archive contains the following files:

Program files: TEALINFO.PRC The TealInfo program file

MKTLINFO.EXE The TealInfo folio creation utility

TPSETUP The TealInfo easy-installer (for Windows)

Document files: INFODOC.PDF This manual in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format

INFODOC.HTM This manual in HTML format (sans images)

INFODOC.PRC This document in TealDoc format

Sample folios: SALESTAX.PDB Sales Tax Calculator folio

TIPS.PDB Tip Calculator and Guide folio

METRICON.PDB Metric converter folio

TODOLIST.PDB Handy, configurable to-do list folio

PHONEBK.PDB Handy, configurable phone book folio

INFOREF.PDB Reference folio for folio development

INFOREF.TXT Source text file for reference folio

Chapter 2 - Installation

Use the PalmPilot installer to install the program file TEALINFO.PRC. It will appear on the Palm Computing device after the next HotSync.

This manual is also provided in this archive as the PalmPilot document INFODOC.PRC, which can be viewed with our application TealDoc.

Instructions on how to use the Palm installer are in the Palm Handbook that came with your Pilot, PalmPilot, Visor or WorkPad.

On a Windows PC you can also use quick setup installer by double clicking on the TPSETUP.EXE installer program, and following the on screen prompts.

To use the program, you'll also need to install some folio files, available on the TealPoint website at www.tealpoint.com or software archive sites like PalmGear HQ (www.palmgear.com) or MemoWare (www.memoware.com).

Included in this archive are a few sample reference folios. The first is INFOREF.PDB, a reference folio for TealInfo folio creation. SALESTAX.PDB is a calculator for sales taxes from 3-11% and TIPS.PDB is a tip calculator with a handy guide to tipping in different situations. METRICON.PDB is a metric conversion folio, containing conversions for temperature, distance, area, volume, and weight. Also included are TODOLIST.PDB and PHONEBK.PDB, good examples of useful, configurable folios that you can edit when on your Palm device to store useful information and tasks. See the section 'Included folios' below for more information.

Chapter 3 – Using the Program

TealInfo is a powerful new medium for presenting and displaying information. TealInfo data folios are interactive documents of organized tables, lists, and windows, complete with advanced user interface elements such as outlines, images, hyperlinks and popup lists. Folios can be easily created with the included tools and a text editor, but look and feel like custom applications.

Advanced developers can use TealInfo to create their own reference tools, calculators, and mini applications, all with no programming.

After installing the program file, you can run it by selecting its icon from the Applications menu.

TealInfo is easy to use, and consists of two basic interface screens, the folio selection screen and the folio browsing screen.

Folio Selection Screen

The first screen, the folio selection screen, appears when you first run TealInfo. On it is a list of all the installed folio files in the current category. You can select or edit categories on your by clicking on the category selection button in the upper right hand corner of the screen. When you click on a listed folio, you can either open that folio for browsing, rename it, change it's category, or delete it permanently from the PalmPilot memory. To change the action performed, click on the action-selection buttons at the bottom of the screen before clicking on an entry in the list.

You can also perform similar operations with image files by changing the "Info" selector at the bottom right to "Pic". These TealPaint picture databases may be used as source imagery for folios. If you choose to Open a picture database, TealPaint will automatically be started if it is installed on your organizer. You'll need to manually load up the correct image database, however.

The following functions are accessible from this screen using the menu button silk-screened to the left of the Graffiti writing area:

Backing up files

The Backup All in List menu sets all the backup bits for folios listed in the current category. This forces the folios to be backed up into your backup directory each time you hotsync. Choosing Backup None in List, on the other hand, resets all the bits to zero. After hotsyncing to back your files, you'll probably want to reset the bits, or the Palm Hotsync system will scan the file looking for changes every time you hotsync, slowing down your hotsync sessions.

Setting Preferences

The following options can be set under the "Preferences" menu item.

Alphabetic Sorting

By default, the folio list is sorted alphabetically. You can turn off this feature to increase response time if you have many folios installed.

Check Version Number

By default, TealInfo will automatically check the version numbers of any folios you open, warning you if any were made with a newer version of TealInfo. You can turn off this feature, but note that you may encounter unpredictable results running newer folios with an older copy of TealInfo should the new folios require features not supported in your version.

Hide Folios Starting with ~ (tilde)

In certain applications it may be desirable to create a series of interlinked folios where some of the sub folios are hidden from view and only accessible from other folios. To do this, name the folios starting with a tilde character (~) and set this option in preferences.

Run in Grayscale

When set, this option runs TealInfo in grayscale mode on a monochrome PalmPilot, automatically remapping TealPaint color images to shades of gray. TealInfo support four-shade grayscale on basic PalmPilot models and 16-shade grayscale on Palm IIIx, and Palm V models running OS 3.3 or higher.

Remember Category

When set, TealInfo remembers the last category you were viewing and returns to it the next time to run the program. Otherwise, the current category is reset to “All” each time you return.

Remember Device

When used with external storage devices, TealInfo returns to the last device visited each time you visit the program. When this option is turned off, TealInfo always starts in RAM.

External Media Devices

TealInfo supports reading folio files directly from any external storage card supporting the PalmOS Virtual File System (VFS). VFS-compatible devices include the Sony Memory Stick, Palm SD/MMC cards, and both the Compact Flash (CF) and SD/MMC slots on HandEra organizers. In addition, support has been added for Portable Innovation MemPlug Springboard modules and Kopsis Engineering’s add-on VFS library.

When a VFS-compatible card is detected, an extra row of icons will appear along the top of the Document List Screen for navigating to folders on the external device. On the left are the device icons, used to select the current card or location to list files. The first icon is the memory icon, and is followed by one numbered card icon for every expansion card found. Most devices will support at most one external storage card, and will thus only have one card icon. The Handera 330, however, can support two simultaneous data cards; so two card icons can be present if both slots are occupied.

To show the files on an external card, simply tap on the corresponding card icon. External file devices support a hierarchical folder system, which replaces the Palm category system. Thus, the “category” selector in the upper right corner disappears and is replaced with a “folder” button when an external card is selected. The “Beam” button also disappears, as files can only be beamed directly from internal memory.

If sub-folders are present in the current folder, simply tap on them to move “down” into the sub-folder to see its contents. To the right of the device icons is a display showing the current directory on the card, followed by two folder navigation buttons. Use the first parent icon to move up one level to the folder which contains the current folder. Tap on the last root icon to move all the way back up to the topmost folder.

Managing Files

To copy or move files between categories in RAM, or to move them between RAM and an external card or between folders on the same card, tap on the Mov pushbutton and tap on the name of the file to move or copy. Either the RAM File Manager or Card File Manager window will open, depending on your current device.

RAM File Manager

The RAM file manager allows you to change the category of a document file stored in RAM. If the expansion device supports VFS, then you can also copy or move the file to the external card. When either option is selected, the file is moved to the last card and sub-folder viewed.

At this time, the MemPlug system software does not support the VFS-standard interface for moving of files between Card and RAM, so the move-to-card options will not be available when directly accessing a MemPlug device.

Note that on Sony CLIE handhelds running older versions of PalmOS, moving files is permitted; copying files outside the standard “MSSONY” folder, however, is not. Sub-folders can be made and used within the MSSONY folder however.

Card File Manager

The card file manager window is similar to the RAM File Manager, except that the list of categories is replaced with a list of folders in the current location. A current (.) entry in the list indicates that you want to copy a file into the listed location. If the current location is not the Root of the card, then additional parent (..) and root (\) folders also appear in the list. These folder entries allow you to select a location in which to copy or move the selected file. To change the current location, double-tap on the folder entry.

On VFS-systems, Move to RAM and Copy to RAM options appear. To move or copy a file, select the target location in the folder list and tap on the move or copy button.

Note that these operations are not supported directly by the MemPlug system software. Also, the Sony CLIE version of VFS does not support copying files outside the MSSONY folder. Lastly, only Palm-format files can be copied or moved to RAM. Text files and other non-palm files cannot be stored in RAM.

An additional three buttons for creating, deleting, and renaming folders is also present in the card file manager. These three options can also be reached by tapping on the folders button on the Document List screen. Care should be used when deleting folders, as if non-document files are present in the folder, they will not be listed in TealDoc and can be accidentally deleted. Some VFS implementations will delete a folder even if it is not empty, while others will simply not delete the folder.

Folio Browsing Screen

When you open a folio for browsing, you are brought to the folio browsing screen, whose interface depends on the folio. The one common element is the close button in the upper right corner of most folios, but some may override this button as well. In any case, you can always close a folio and return to the Selection Screen by selecting the Close menu item.

Details

The Details dialogue allows you to set two parameters for the current folio. The Backup bit determines whether the file is backed up during each HotSync, while the Private item determines whether the file is listed in the folio Section screen when private records are globally hidden in the Palm security settings.

Checkmark All/None

Sets or clears, respectively, all entries in presently shown CHECKMARK and CHECKLIST items. Use this to quickly reset or set a commonly used task list, for instance.

Using Folios

TealInfo folios can have many interface elements already familiar to PalmPilot owners. These include:

Lists

Vertical lists of selectable elements, scrollable with a scroll bar if there are too many selections to fit on one view.

Tables

Tables resemble lists, but display information on a grid. While lists can contain columns which look similar to tables, tables allow the selection of a single rectangle in the grid, while lists always select the entire row.

Windows

Freely-wrapping scrolling text windows

Checkboxes

Lists with selectable boxes for each item

Popup Lists

Fields which show the current selection but pop up a selection list when you click on them.

Edit fields

Regions where you can click inside and enter or edit text. Unlike the system equivalent, these may take on more advanced formatting when not beinq edited.

Outlines

Like lists, but featuring an outline-like tree hierarchy, subsections of which can be collapsed (hidden) or expanded (shown) under user control. To expand or contract an outline item, tap on the control triangle next to the item name.

Tables

A variant of windows supporting multiple columns with or without vertical and horizontal grid lines. Tap on entries to highlight a cell if the table is selectable.

Popup Windows

Pushbuttons that bring up a window of text when tapped.

Goto Buttons

Buttons that open up another folio, if present, Doc files in TealDoc, Movie files in TealMovie, or open databases in other supporting applications.

Print Buttons

Buttons which output textual data or report to a supported printing through the program TealPrint.

Images

Picture imbedded in a folio or stored from TealPaint image databases

Popup Images

Pictures which display themselves when a button is tapped

Animations

Page-flipped images, providing simple cycling animation.

Cycling Text

Windows with changing text messages for warnings or advertising messages.

Passwords

Ability to ask for passwords when entering a folio for security or registration purposes.

Hyperlinks

Specially-marked text that you can tap on to jump to other folios or popup windows, pictures, and lists.

Object Linking

Ability to link the contents or behavior of a window, image, or list to the current selection of one to eight other lists, outlines or checkboxes.

Chapter 4 - Included Folio Files

A number of folios are included with TealInfo. These are for demonstration purposes only. A huge library of additional folios are available for free download online.

INFOREF.PDB

This folio provides a useful quick reference for building TealInfo folios. It lists the FIELD and STYLE tags supported by each TealInfo object. Chose an object type from the popup list at the top of the folio. Its corresponding FIELDS and TAGS will appear in the windows below.

SALESTAX.PDB

A simple calculator for sales taxes from 3-11% in ¼ percent increments. Choose your tax rate from the popup and pre-tax subtotal in the list on the left.

TIPS.PDB

A simple tip calculator, choose the pre-tax total from the left to calculate an appropriate tip. Also includes a helpful tip guide giving general guidelines for common situations.

METRICON.PDB

A metric conversion folio. Choose conversion type and units from the popups at the top of the folio to display an appropriate conversion table.

TODOLIST.PDB

A handy to-do list folio. Click on the 'Edit' button to insert your own entries. Unchecked items appear on lines preceeded by a minus (-), while checked-off items are preceeded by plus (+) signs. A line with neither symbol will simply appear as an un-checkable label. To load more than one copy of this folio, rename the original folio on the Folio Selection Screen and use the Palm Install tool to install the TODOLIST.PDB file again.

PHONEBK.PDB

A handy phone book folio. Click on the 'Edit' button to edit the current page of phone number entries. Use a single tab stroke to separate data intended for each nine and the 'return' stroke to separate lines. Change the list of categories using the 'categories' button, entering each category on a separate line.

Chapter 5 - Creating Folio Files

Like TealDoc files, TealInfo folios are created first as text files that then get converted to a pilot-recognizable format using a conversion program. For TealInfo folios, the MkTlInfo converson tool is included for this purpose.

On a PC, run MkTlInfo from a DOS box with the following format:

MKTLINFO <input text file> <output .PDB file> <folio title> <image database>

If any of the file names or titles have spaces, they should be enclosed in quotes. The image database (optional) is the name of a TealPaint image database in the current folder to insert into the folio to be used as an embedded source of imagery.

You can also run MkTlInfo without arguments and you’ll be prompted to input the necessary file names.

If you're planning to make your own folios, we recommend downloading the TealInfo Dev Kit, available on our web site. It contains sample source text files and documentation to help in making folios, as well as a folio decompiler for reverse-converting unprotected folios.

When making a folio, you'll no doubt need to quickly preview changes, particularly when positioning on-screen objects. We recommend using POSE, the Palm OS Emulator, available at Palm's web site http://www.palm.com. This program simulates a Palm organizer on your computer desktop, allowing you to nearly instantly load new version of a folio for quick previewing.

MkTlInfo Source File Format

MkTlInfo takes plain text files with the following basic format: Objects are defined by a line with the name of the OBJECT, followed by lines containing FIELDS describing the object. Each field is followed by one or more VALUES on the same line, though TEXT fields may have VALUES on subsequent lines as well. VALUES can be numbers, expressions, keywords, or quoted text, depending on the type of FIELD.

(OBJECT1) (ID)
(FIELD1) (VALUE1A) (VALUE1B...)
(FIELD2) (VALUE2A) (VALUE2B...)
...

(OBJECT2) (ID)
(FIELD1) (VALUE1A) (VALUE1B...)
(FIELD2) (VALUE2A) (VALUE2B...)
...

where (OBJECT) is a keyword defining an on-screen interface element such as a list, label, or button, and (FIELD) is the name of an adjustable parameter for that object. Each (FIELD) is followed by one or more values, depending on the particular (FIELD).

Comment lines are indicated with a pound (#) sign. An lines beginning with a ‘#’ are ignored by the folio converter.

EXAMPLE: This example creates a simple form with one scrolling object

#
# This is a simple scrolling list
#

LIST

X 10
Y 20
W 140
H 130
TEXT "The Man Trap"

"Charlie X"
"Where No Man Has Gone Before"
"The Enemy Within"
"Mudd's Women"
"What are Little Girls Made of?"
"The Naked Time"

STYLE HRULE
FONT 1

Relative Object Placement

When placing objects in a folio, it's often convenient to define an object's coordinates relative to another object, making them easy to align or move as a group. To help do so, numerical values can be entered as simple math expressions, and a number of predefined symbols can be used in the expressions, substituting for numbers:

X Y W H

Coordinates of the current object (must be defined on a previous line to be used)

BX BY BW BH

Coordinates of the current object's activation button

PREVX PREVY PREVW PREVH

Coordinates of the previous object

PREVBX PREVBY PREVBW PREVBH

Coordinates of the previous object's activation button

For instance, to define a column of checkmark objects, one might write:

CHECKMARK

X 10
Y 15
W 100
H 12
TEXT "One"

CHECKMARK

X PREVX
Y PREVY+12
W PREVW
H PREVH
TEXT "Two"

CHECKMARK

X PREVX
Y PREVY+12
W PREVW
H PREVH
TEXT "Three"

SPECIAL NOTE: mathematical expressions used for coordinate positioning currently supports five operators: addition (+), subtraction (-), multiplication (*), division (/), and modulus (%). Expressions are evaluated strictly from left to right, currently ignoring any mathematical precedence rules. Thus, 2+3*5 is evaluated as 25, not 17.

Special File Tags

Three special tags exist which don’t affect the contents of the folios directly, but rather are used to pass parameters and file names to MkTlInfo, so they don’t have to be specified every time the folio is compiled.

PNTFILE

While images for IMAGE and POPIMAGE objects can remain as separate TealPaint databases, it's often more convenient to ship a folio as a single file with the images imbedded inside. An entire TealPaint image database can be included inside a folio with PNTFILE tag. For example,

PNTFILE PICTURES.PDB

will imbed the image database "Pictures.pdb" (should be in the current folder) into a created folio. Any references to the picture database by IMAGE or POPIMAGE objects should then use the name of the folio as it appears on the PalmPilot instead of the image database name. Only one picture database can be imbedded in a folio.

OUTFILE and OUTNAME

MkTlInfo supports the use of special tags in the source file to pre-specify output and database (as seen on PalmPilot) file names. This latter name is especially important if the database is required to have a specific name because it's referred to by links from other folios or from internal references to imbedded TealPaint images.

Examples:

OUTFILE MYFOLIO.PDB
OUTNAME "My little folio"

Inline Font/Underline Selection

TealInfo supports changing fonts and underlining inside a body of text for a WINDOW or POPWINDOW object. Other objects may be less predictable. Font changing is done via HTML-like tags imbedded with the text of the object. For best results, font and underline tags should not bridge lines of the text. For example:

TEXT

"This is some <$FONT=1>bold</$FONT> text."
"This is some <$UNDERLINED>underlined</$UNDERLINED> text."

The <$FONT> tag selects a font, while the </$FONT> tag reverts it back to the original font. Unlike HTML, tags of the same type cannot be nested, so a </$FONT> tag will always revert back to the original font, even if preceded by two <$FONT > tags.

Note that the original font defined in the object definition governs the spacing of text in a TealInfo object. Thus, you usually don't want to change fonts to one taller than the original font, or subsequent text lines will clip that text.

Inline Hyperlinks

You can also insert hyperlinks in text to open a named folio or activate a named button to pop up a window or picture. For example:

TEXT

"Just tap <$LINK="My Folio"><$LINK="My Index Folio">here</$LINK> to go to the index folio."
"Just tap <$LINK="Info"><$LINK="Info">here</$LINK> to show more information."

The link text can be the name of a folio to open or the name of a button to activate. The actual text of the button should be included, not the button object’s name in the source file. Note that you can place the button entirely off-screen by using large coordinates (such as BX=200 BY=200), leaving the hyperlink as the only way to activate it.

Scrolling objects

TealInfo supports scrollable, oversized, text and image objects. The oversized width of text objects are defined by creating columns wider than the objects, while their heights are defined by the number of lines of content. Image widths and heights are defined by their source imagery. To create a horizontally scrolling WINDOW object, use the TABS field to create a column wider than the object itself.

WINDOW

X 10

Y 10

W 50

H 50

TABS 75

TEXT

"This is an example of a text window with" \

"horizontal scrolling"

Text objects appear with on-screen scrolling bars. In addition, for both types of objects, mapping the hardware up/down scrolling buttons can do scrolling and/or combinations for the four application launch buttons to vertical and/or horizontal movement. This is done using one of the BUTTON_SCROLL style flags.

By mapping scrolling behavior to different buttons for different objects, some folios can be made which operate largely pen-free.

Linking Objects

LINK fields allow the current selection of one or more objects to control the contents of another object. Basically, the controlled object should contain multiple TEXT fields with different content. By linking that object to other objects, the actual TEXT block used will depend on the selections of the controlling objects.

To link an object, first identify the objects you're linking-to by giving each of them a unique ID name (with no spaces) following the object tag. For instance, the following identifies a list object as object 'choice_list'.

LIST choice_list
X 5
Y 5
...

Then, refer to this object in another object using the LINKS tag

WINDOW info

LINKS choice_list

TEXT "text one"

TEXT "text two"

TEXT "text three"

An object can only be linked to objects ("Linkees"), which appear before it (the "Linker") in a text file. The "linker" object must also have multiple TEXT fields defined for it. The one that is actually used at any given moment is determined by the current selections of all of its "Linkees", multiplied out using the formula (example for 3 objects, 1, 2, and 3):

index = ((value1 * max2) + value2) * max3 + value3

where max1,max2,and max3 represent the respective number of selections objects 1, 2, and 3 can take on. In this example, you must have (max1 * max2 * max3) number of TEXT fields to cover all the possible values of value1, 2, and 3.

EXAMPLE:

LIST id_difficulty

X 90
Y 15
W 60
H 100
TEXT

"Easy"
"Hard"

LIST id_speed

X 10
Y 15
W 60
H 100
TEXT

"Off"
"Slow"
"Med"
"Fast"

WINDOW

X 10
Y 120
W 140
H 20
LINKS id_difficulty id_speed

TEXT "This is Easy and Off"
TEXT "This is Easy and Slow"
TEXT "This is Easy and Med"
TEXT "This is Easy and Fast"
TEXT "This is Hard and Off"
TEXT "This is Hard and Slow"
TEXT "This is Hard and Med"
TEXT "This is Hard and Fast"

ADVANCED TIP: The maximum value for each Linkee is normally determined by that object's current contents. If the contents of a Linkee can change, the math will not come up predictably if it is not the first item linked, because the MAX value will be variable, and more than one combination of selections can end up with the same index. This commonly occurs with two Linkees when the first Linkee is a category, and the second is a sub-category whose contents depend on the first Linkee's value.

LINKS palm_models options

If this is the case, use the MAXVAL style flag to fix a maximum value for that second LINKEE. Place the MAXVAL tag in the linkee’s object definition, not in the object containing the LINK field referencing the linkee. Set MAXVAL equal to the real maximum number of selections the LINKEE need have, and place extra entries in the LINKER object to pad out the unused combinations, so that you have max1 groups of MAXVAL2 TEXT fields.

LINKS palm_models options

TEXT "1. Pilot 1000"
TEXT "2. Pilot 5000"
TEXT "3."

TEXT "1. PalmPilot Personal"
TEXT "2. PalmPilot Professional"
TEXT "3."

TEXT "1. PalmIII"
TEXT "2. PalmIIIx"
TEXT "3. PalmIIIe"

TEXT "1. PalmV"
TEXT "2. PalmVx"

TEXT "3."
TEXT "1. PalmIIIc"
TEXT "2."
TEXT "3."

For more info on how to do multiple dependencies, download our TEALINFO DEV KIT for examples.

Using Text Resources

Text Resources allow a folio to minimize duplicated text. Use the TRES tag to define an object with a single TEXT field. Be sure to give the TRES object a unique ID. Then, other objects can use this resource's text as its own object by simply referring to this ID preceeded by an '@' (at sign) instead of adding its own quoted text. Note that adding a TRES object uses about 50 bytes of overhead, so space savings will only occur with text of sufficient length, but text resource still allow easy editing of commonly-used text.

EXAMPLE:

TRES id_notfound

TEXT "Sorry, no information is available about this device."

WINDOW

X 5
Y 14
W 80
H 100
LINKS id_device id_class
TEXT "4-5 Miles"
TEXT "3 Miles"
TEXT @id_notfound
TEXT @id_notfound
TEXT "15 Miles (estimated)"

Creating Commercial Folios

When creating a commercial folio, you may wish to use some of TealInfo's security features to keep your folio from being illicitly copied, decompiled, or used. As a first step, you can use the PASSWORD tag to lock the folio to a keyword. You can set up the keyword to be required to open the folio, or only if someone tries to decompile it. With the former option, using a numerical keyword or one that is not easily remembered, can keep the folio from being casually copied by someone unless they keep the keyword with them.

As a second level of protection, you create a custom version of the folio for every customer, using a key they wouldn't want to give out, like their credit card number.

Finally, if you collect the customer's HotSync user name, you can create a folio keyed to only work with their PalmPilot using the PASSWORD tag with with the LOCKOUT style option but an empty ("") TEXT field. See the TealInfo Object Reference in the Appendix for more information.

Using TealInfo for Forms Applications

With a little work, TealInfo can be used for simple forms applications using POPEDIT, EDITWINDOW, POPLIST, CHECKLIST, and CHECKMARK objects. For the latter three objects, the REGISTER style flag is typically used to keep any choices permanent. To make EDITWINDOW changes permanent, the EDITWINDOW text must be stored in a separate TRES block,

To load the data back to the desktop, the folio “backup” option should be set in the details dialog for the folio. The folio will then be copied back to the user’s Palm backup folder on HotSync. At that point, the folio decompiler “UntlInfo” (in the TealInfo Dev Kit) can be used to convert the folio back to text format suitable for parsing by a database script or converter program.

Future versions of TealInfo may include tools to help make such forms functionality available to general users and other non-programmers.

Using MATH Objects

One of the most powerful features of TealInfo is ability to create and use MATH objects. MATH objects display the results of a mathematical expression, which can combine data from other objects and their selections. MATH objects can be displayed or themselves be used as values for other MATH objects or LINK fields.

Expressions

Mathematical expressions can be specified in simple, intuitive form. They are currently evaluated strictly from left to right. Thus, the expression:

1+2*3

will evaluate to 9, instead of 7, which follows the accepted convention of performing multiply operations before additions and subtractions. To avoid confusion, parentheses should be used to specify left-to-right order when mathematical precedence would normally dictate otherwise.

(1+2)*3

The parentheses will be ignored, but this will maintain compatibility with future versions of TealInfo which may add support for both parentheses and precedence.

RPN Notation

Complex equations can also be specified using RPN (Reverse Polish Notation) popularized by HP calculators. The benefit of RPN is that it can evaluate any equation from left to right order without parentheses. While this document cannot go into a full explanation or tutorial of using RPN, the concept is simple:

RPN operates on the concept of a list of numbers, commonly called a “stack”. When a number appears in an RPN expression it is simply added to the stack. When an operator (such as + or -) appears, it simply pulls the last two items off the stack, performs math on them, and places the result back onto the stack.

In evaluating a “normal” math expression (like 1+1), we normally start with a number, store it in our minds, then add an operator, remember it too, and then wait until we get another number to evaluate the expression. With complex expressions, we end up saving a whole bunch of numbers and operators and the order to evaluate them along the way to getting an answer.

RPN is much more efficient because you only store numbers. Operations occur immediately when you get the operator, so it’s much more efficient. The operators appear in the order you would normally evaluate them, not the order they appear in the expression.

Some “standard” expressions translate to RPN as follows:

1+2 becomes 1 2 +

(1+2) -3 becomes 1 2 + 3 -

1+(2-3) becomes 1 2 3 - +

(1+2)-(3+4) becomes 1 2 + 3 4 + -

Operands

The numbers that appear in an expression, the “operands”, can simply be constant numerical values such as 1, 2, 3.1415, or .000007.

Operands can also be the name of another object, preceeded with an ‘@’ sign or an ‘#’ sign. If the object is a LIST or other selectable object, the ‘#’ sign will return the current “value” (selected line number) of the object, substituted in for its name. The ‘@’ sign will instead return the value of the object’s text. If the object is a WINDOW, EDITWINDOW, other non-selectable object, or even another MATH object, then the object’s current TEXT is evaluated as an expression itself and the result inserted into the current MATH object’s expression. For LIST objects, the value of the current selection is used. For instance, a simple tip calculator could include:

TEXT “( @tip_rate * 0.01 + 1.0 ) * @sub_total”

Operators

MATH objects support a number of mathematical operators, including:

Floating Point Math

Addition (+)

Subtraction (-)

Multiplication (*)

Division (/)

Integer Math (fractional parts of operators are ignored)

Modulus (%) – A%B is the leftover part after repeatedly subtracting B from A

Comparison (return 1 if true, 0 if false)

Greater-Than (>)

Less-Than (<)

Greater-or-Equal (>=)

Less-or-Equal (<=)

Equal (==)

Not-Equal (!=)

Logical (returns 1 if true, 0 if false)

Logical And (&&)

Logical Or (||)

Logical Xor (^^)

Bit Math

Bitwise And (&)

Bitwise Or (|)

Bitwise Xor (^)

Special

Truncate Digits (\) – truncates a number to a specified decimal place

Round Digits (:) – similar to truncate, but rounds up or down to the nearest result

Duplicate on Stack ($) – for RPN math only, duplicates the last entry on the stack

RPN Example

With a little ingenuity, MATH operators can be used to create some very neat folios. For instance, suppose you want to have a tip calculator which forces a 20% tip if the party is 6 or more people. The following RPN expression could take advantage of comparison operators to calculate a grand total in a tip calculator.

TEXT “@tiprate @numpeople 6 < * 20 @numpeople 6 >= * + .01 * 1.0 + @subtotal *”

@tiprate @numpeople 6 < *

The first operand of this expression just places the tipping rate on the stack. Then it compares the number of people into the party. Remember that comparison operators evaluate to 1 if true, 0 if false. Since this result is then multiplied with the tipping rate on the stack, it has the effect of zeroing out the total if 6 or more people are present.

20 @numpeople 6 >= * +

The next section, starting with “20”, does the exact opposite. It evaluates to 0 if less than 6 people are present, or 20 otherwise. The two resulting products are added together, so the result is a rate of “tiprate” if fewer than 6 people are present or 20 otherwise. This is then multiplied by .01 to get a percentage, and added to 1 and multiplied with the subtotal to get the grand total.

Indexing

When using the ‘@’ symbol to reference text values in LIST and TABLE objects, the current selection is normally used to index to the corresponding line or cell of the LIST or TABLE. Using brackets ( [ ] ), a specific entry can be manually specified instead. This allows LIST and TABLE objects to be used as convenient storage objects for lists of numbers used in calculations. The brackets should immediately follow the object name, with the index value enclosed by the brackets. For example,

@choice[1]

@choice[2]

@choice[3]

reference the first three items in a LIST named “choice”. Interestingly,

@choice[#choice]

is equivalent to

@choice

Parameters

Sometimes, it is useful to re-use a mathematical expression defined in a referenced MATH object, but with one or two of the numbers changed from use to use. In these instances, curly braces ( { } ) can be used to pass extra values into the MATH object to be used in evaluating the expression.

In the referencing MATH object, curly braces are added after the referenced object name, containing one or more values separated by columns. The values are then read from within the referenced MATH object using the special symbols $1, $2… etc.

For instance if a math object called “calc_tax” contains the following formula (rate/100+1)*subtotal:

TEXT “$2 100 / 1 + $1 *”

It can be used to calculate the totals for different subtotal/tax combinations:

TEXT “@calc_tax{21.95,6.5}”

Notes: Parameters can only be used in undisplayed referenced objects. As these objects expect and use parameters, they must be hidden using a blank PAGES tag, as their value without parameters is undefined. Also, when used in combination with indexing, parameters and their associated curly braces must come after the indexing square brackets, not before.

Special Notes

Math objects can also be used as sources for LINKs to other objects. When referenced as a LINK, only the integer portion (the part left of the decimal point) of the number is used. When referenced from an expression in another Math object, however, the full value is used.

Using DRAW Objects

DRAW and POPDRAW objects let you draw graphics onto a rectangular area of the screen with a series of simple graphic commands. Graphics generated this way can be much more space efficient that bitmap graphics, and can also vary according to user selections when combined with MATH objects.

DRAW object commands appear in a TEXT block with one command per line. Lines beginning with a ‘#’ sign are ignored.

The following simple example draws a holiday greeting on the screen.

DRAW

X 10

Y 20

W 140

H 110

TEXT

"FCOLOR 212"

"DLINE 40 90 70 20"

"DLINE 70 20 100 90"

"GLINE 100 90 40 90"

"FCOLOR 161"

"DRECT 60 60 7 7 3"

"DRECT 70 30 4 4 3"

"GRECT 50 80 7 7 3"

"GRECT 80 70 6 6 3"

"FCOLOR 255"

"DRECT 65 90 10 4 0"

"DFRAME 10 10 120 90 5 3"

"DCHARS 1 30 40 Season's Greetings"

See the appendix for a full list of valid commands.

Commands can also accept references to external objects in place of numerical or text parameters. Use the ‘#’ sign followed by the object name to insert an object’s current selection number into a drawing command, or ‘@’ followed by the name to insert it’s current text.

Appendix A - MkTlInfo Object Reference

This appendix lists the screen objects and properties recognized by MkTlInfo in making custom TealInfo folios. More comprehensive references and examples can be found in the TealInfo Developer’s Kit, found on the developer’s section of the TealPoint web site.

Basic Display Objects

WINDOW

Description:

A basic screen object, WINDOW objects define a rectangular region of the screen which contains text. The text automatically wraps lines of text if necessary, and supports vertical or horizontal scrolling and optional columns and grid lines. Text in WINDOW objects can be viewed, but not be edited or selected.

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT TABS LINKS CYCLE DELAY COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

VERT_RULE HORIZ_RULE INVERTED NO_BORDER BOLD_BORDER ALIGN_RIGHT ALIGN_CENTER ALIGN_LEFT_START ALIGN_RIGHT_START ALIGN_CENTER_START ALIGN_LEFT_END ALIGN_RIGHT_END ALIGN_CENTER_END NO_SCROLL MASK_BUTTON_SCROLL

Notes:

A WINDOW holds a block of text which automatically word-wraps if longer than one line. Normally, to take advantage of this feature, paragraphs should be entered as one long line. As MkTlInfo only supports a 4000 character long line, this is typically done by using the continuation mark (\) with the TEXT fields. See the TealInfo field reference below for more information.

Columns and line rulings are supported, allowing the display of the text in tabular or columnar layout. To do so, use the TABS field to define the width of individual columns, and enter multiple quote-delimited chunks of data on each line, or separate the text for each column on a line using tab characters imbedded in the text. The VERT_GRID and HORIZ_GRID fields can be used to add grid lines to the columns. When VERT_GRID is defined, columns are treated as spreadsheet-like cells, and data is truncated if necessary to fit within each column. When omitted, columns are treated like tab-stops in a word processor; text may overflow into neighboring columns; tab characters simply advance to the next column.

By default, column entries are left-justified. The ALIGN_CENTER and ALIGN_RIGHT styles can override this justification in all columns. In turn, the ALIGN_RIGHT_START and ALIGN_RIGHT_END, ALIGN_CENTER_START and ALIGN_CENTER_END styles can be used to set alternate justification for only the first or last columns.

Since text in a window is not selectable, WINDOW objects have no “current value” and thus cannot be used as the target of a LINK field in another object. They can themselves LINK to other objects, however, and this is a common use of WINDOW objects. For instance, by defining multiple TEXT fields and using the LINK field to target, say, a LIST object, the window can be used to display different data depending on the current selection of the LIST object.

POPWINDOW

Description:

A scrollable, auto-wrapping text window that comes up when a trigger button is pressed.

Required Fields:

X Y W H BX BY BW BH BTEXT TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT TABS LINKS BFONT COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

VERT_RULE HORIZ_RULE INVERTED BOLD_BORDER ALIGN_RIGHT ALIGN_CENTER ALIGN_LEFT_START ALIGN_RIGHT_START ALIGN_CENTER_START ALIGN_LEFT_END ALIGN_RIGHT_END ALIGN_CENTER_END NO_SCROLL MASK_BUTTON_SCROLL FILLED SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

A variation on WINDOW objects, most of a POPWINDOW object is normally hidden. Only a small trigger button defined by BX, BY, BW, and BH is shown on screen. The button resembles a standard PalmOS text button. A BTEXT field defines its label. When tapped, the window appears, and stays on screen until tapped to dismiss it.

LABEL

Description:

A simple text label.

Required Fields:

X Y TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

INVERTED ALIGN_CENTER ALIGN_RIGHT

Notes:

LABEL objects are drawn so that the upper-left, upper-right, or upper-center of the text is aligned at the designated coordinate. Text is not wrapped and cannot scroll.

RECT

Description:

A bare graphic rectangle, either filled or not, used as a graphic embellishment

Required Fields:

X Y W H

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE

Supported Styles:

FILLED ROUND_BORDER BOLD_BORDER

IMAGE

Description:

Displays a graphic in TealPaint image format or subrectangle of an image in the specified rectangle

Required Fields:

X Y W H SX SY DATABASE RECORD

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE LINKS CYCLE DELAY

Supported Styles:

NO_BORDER BOLD_BORDER BUTTON_SCROLL

Notes:

The bounding box for the image must be a multiple of 8 pixels wide. SX and SY define the offsets into the source image from which to grab the subrectangle. SX must also be a multiple of 8 pixels wide, and the source image must not be wider than 160 pixels.

DATABASE defines the name of the image database. It is case sensitive and must match the name of the Image Database as it appears in TealInfo or TealPaint. The image can also be tacked onto the end of the TealInfo folio using MkTlInfo. If the image is appended in this way, then DATABASE should hold the name of the folio instead. Note that the image will fail to draw if the folio is renamed.

RECORD defines the image number of the database to use. The first image in a database is image 0.

To create simple page flipping animation, set the CYCLE parameter equal to the number of frames of animation. TealInfo will step forward through the image databases, looping from image RECORD to image RECORD+CYCLE-1, stopping between from frames by an amount specified by DELAY, in tenths of a second.

POPIMAGE

Description:

A popup-window displaying a TealPaint image or subrectangle of an image.

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BY BTEXT X Y W H SX SY DATABASE RECORD

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE LINKS CYCLE DELAY BFONT

Supported Styles:

VERT_RULE HORIZ_RULE INVERTED NO_BORDER BOLD_BORDER ALIGN_RIGHT ALIGN_CENTER FILLED ALIGN_LEFT_START ALIGN_RIGHT_START ALIGN_CENTER_START ALIGN_LEFT_END ALIGN_RIGHT_END ALIGN_CENTER_END NO_SCROLL MASK_BUTTON_SCROLL BUTTON_SELECT STROKE_FIND REGISTERL

Notes:

This object has the same image and usage restrictions as an IMAGE object. As a small bonus feature, however, color or grayscale images shown in a full-screen POPIMAGE objects will appear in 16 grey levels on a Palm V-style display (Palm V, Visor), even under OS 3.1, which does not otherwise support the 16-shade mode.

Interactive Selection Controls

LIST

Description:

A scrollable vertical list of selectable text items, supporting optional columns and vertical and horizontal ruled lines.

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT TABS LINKS DEFAULT MAXVAL COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

Notes:

LIST objects are interactive elements. While they are defined and used like WINDOW objects, text does not automatically word-wrap, and any line in the LIST can be highlighted by the user by tapping on it.

This gives the LIST a current numerical “value” ranging from zero (the first item) to the number of items in the list (minus one). This value can be used as an operand for expressions in MATH objects, or change the contents of other objects that have LINK fields referring to us.

The entries in a LIST are specified using multiple-lines of text in a TEXT field. Each line specifies a separate entry in the list. If the LINK field is used to link the object to another object’s value, multiple TEXT fields can be used to define changing contents for the LIST.

POPLIST

Description:

A scrollable, selectable item list triggered by popup button, resembling the PalmOS category selector

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT BX BY BW BH

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT TABS LINKS DEFAULT MAXVAL BFONT COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

Notes:

The trigger button for POPLIST objects resemble standard PalmOS category selectors. They show the text of the current selection with a triangular trigger symbol. They should be sized wide enough to fit the widest text line to be drawn without truncating the text.

TABLE (New in 4.0)

Description:

Nearly identical to LIST objects, TABLE objects bring up a scrollable, selectable list of text items. Columns defined by the TABS field, however, are required. Unlike a LIST, which selects an entire row of items at a time, TABLE objects allow the selection of single cells within the object. A TABLE object with a single column is equivalent to a LIST object.

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT TABS

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT LINKS DEFAULT MAXVAL COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

Notes:

The current “value” of a TABLE object corresponds to the current highlighted cell. Cells are numbered starting at zero from left to right and then top to bottom.

POPTABLE (New in 4.0)

Description:

A pop-up version of the TABLE object, POPTABLE objects bring up a Table when their trigger buttons are tapped. The trigger buttons show the contents of the current cell.

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT BX BY BW BH TABS

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT LINKS DEFAULT MAXVAL BFONT COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

VERT_RULE HORIZ_RULE INVERTED BOLD_BORDER ALIGN_RIGHT ALIGN_CENTER
ALIGN_LEFT_START ALIGN_RIGHT_START ALIGN_CENTER_START ALIGN_LEFT_END ALIGN_RIGHT_END ALIGN_CENTER_END NO_SCROLL MASK_BUTTON_SCROLL BUTTON_SELECT STROKE_FIND FILLED REGISTER SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

The trigger button shows the name of the currently selected item, and BX BY BW and BH define its bounds. X, Y, W, and H define the bounds of the table the trigger brings up. The button bounds must be large enough to contain the longest cell in order for it to draw correctly.

OUTLINE

Description:

A scrollable, selectable, hierarchical item list, this object shows a list of data in outline tree form, where subsections of the tree may be collapsed and hidden from view when desired.

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT TABS LINKS DEFAULT MAXVAL COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

HORIZ_RULE INVERTED NO_BORDER BOLD_BORDER NO_SCROLL MASK_BUTTON_SCROLL BUTTON_SELECT STROKE_FIND REGISTER

Notes:

Similar to standard LIST objects, OUTLINE objects show a list of selectable text items. Unlike a LIST, however, the items are displayed like an outline tree with items, sub-items, and sub-sub-items. Subsections can be hidden or shown by tapping on control triangles next to items in the outline.

To define an outline list's contents, create a multi-line TEXT field, preceeding lines with one or more '>' or '<' characters to define it's level in the tree. Root items are bare. Subitems to root entries are preceeded by one '>', sub-items to sub-items are preceeded by '>>', etc. If the item in the list should appear initially when the folio is first opened, then use a '<' character instead of a '>'. The '<' character forces the control on the previous line to default to the open state.

To set up an OUTLINE object for horizontal scrolling, use a TABS field with a single value specifying the virtual width of the scrolling area in pixels. OUTLINE objects not not otherwise support columns.

The following example sets up an OUTLINE object with three levels of items:

OUTLINE

X 10
Y 20
W 100
H 120
TEXT "Restaurants"

"Hotels"
"Taxis"
"Museums"
">Art"
">Nature"
">>Marine"
">>Land"
"Nightclubs"
">Nice"
">Seedy"

POPOUTLINE (New in 4.0)

Description:

A POPOUTLINE object is pop-up version of an expanding OUTLINE object. When popped up, outline branches can be opened up or collapsed by tapping on standard outline control triangles. When tapping elsewhere on a line the list is selected and the popup window is closed.

Required Fields:

X Y W H BX BY BW BH TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT TABS LINKS DEFAULT MAXVAL BFONT BTEXT COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

HORIZ_RULE INVERTED BOLD_BORDER NO_SCROLL MASK_BUTTON_SCROLL BUTTON_SELECT STROKE_FIND REGISTER FILLED SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

See Outline objects for instructions on defining levels in a POPOUTLINE object.

where:

<editname> is the name of the EDITWINDOW object to affect

<mode> is either a colon “:” (immediate mode) or semicolon “;” (delayed mode).

<action> is either a plus “+” (add), equals “=” (replace), minus “-“ (subtract), or number sign “#” (calculator key action).

<text> is the new text

In “immediate” mode, other screen objects which depend on the entry are immediately refreshed to reflect the new text. In “delayed” mode, the text is entered, but only the EDITWINDOW object itself is redrawn. Other objects such as on-screen math objects are not redrawn in delayed mode.

The “add” action appends text to the end of the specified EDITWINDOWs current contents, while the “replace” action replaces it entirely. The “subtract” action ignores any passed text and simply deletes the last character from the EDITWINDOW. The last action, the “calculator” action, acts either like “add” or “replace” action depending on whether a calculation is pending. If one has yet to be flushed out (due to entry using delayed-mode key presses, it adds the specified text. Once calculated, the next press replaces the contents.

Common applications include:

Calculator-style entry buttons (delayed calculation)

TARGET “@number;#1”

TARGET “@number;#2”

TARGET “@number;#3”

Backspace

TARGET “@number;-”

Enter/Calculate key (note the empty text to add)

TARGET “@number:+”

Clear key (sets contents to nothing)

TARGET “@number:=”

Filling a form field

TARGET “@gender:=female”

TARGET “@gender:=male”

New to 4.20: If TARGET text is used with no target object (TARGET “a”), then the character(s) specified will be entered into the general input stream, simulating a user entering the characters by hand. If another object has the STROKE_FIND style set, it will respond to the character, allowing INPUT objects to change the current selection in an external LIST object to an entry whose first letter matches the indicated letter.

Data Processing Controls

POPMERGE (New in 4.0)

Description:

Similar to POPWINDOW objects, POPMERGE objects bring up scrollable, auto-wrapping text windows when a specified trigger button is pressed. The contents of the windows, however, can contain text from various other windows, fields, and objects, both hidden and shown. These are “merged” into the text of the final window to produce the combined output

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BH BTEXT TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES X Y W H STYLE FONT TABS LINKS BFONT COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

Notes:

The text appearing in a POPMERGE popup is defined using a TEXT field in the expected way. Placeholders for text pulled from other objects are inserted using the ‘@’ symbol followed by the name of an object to be included. Often, the source objects are hidden objects controlled by user selections. Sample text might look like:

TEXT “Madame sees your @problem difficulty will get much @prediction today!”

PRINTMERGE (New in 4.0)

Description:

A PRINTMERGE object combines text from separate objects, but instead of displaying it in a pop up window, the text is sent to TealPrint for print out on a supported printer. This allows folios to output form documents, summaries, or receipts based on user inputs and selections.

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BH BTEXT TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE LINKS BFONT COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

FILLED SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

TealPrint must also be installed on the handheld for PRINTMERGE objects to be functional. When selected, a PRINTMERGE object will bring up a standard TealPrint printer dialog to confirm print options prior to sending the text to the printer or spooler.

MATH (New in 4.0)

Description:

A math object is a simple window displaying the numerical result of a calculation. Evaluated expressions can contain references to the current (zero-based) selection of objects with a current “value” such as lists, outlines, and tables. They can also evaluate numbers or expressions found in static objects such as windows, other math objects, and other objects that cannot be selected.

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE FONT LINKS DECIMALS DIGITS COMPRESS

Supported Styles:

INVERTED NO_BORDER BOLD_BORDER ALIGN_RIGHT ALIGN_CENTER

Notes:

MATH objects are one of the most complex and ambitious TealInfo objects. They show the result of a calculation as a floating-point number. To use one, a mathematical expression (equation) is specified with a TEXT field, but the result of the evaluation of the expression is what gets displayed. The number displayed can be rounded off to a number of decimal points to the right of the decimal point using the DECIMALS field, or padded with zeroes on the left to a total number of digits using the DIGITS field.

Mathematical expressions can be specified in simple, intuitive form. They are currently evaluated strictly from left to right, and in “standard” or RPN (Reverse Polish Notation) order.
See the chapter “Using MATH Objects” for more information and examples on using MATH objects.

Operands

The numbers that appear in an expression, the “operands”, can simply be constant numerical values such as 1, 2, 3.1415, or .000007.

Operands can also reference another object, preceded with ‘@’ or ‘#’ signs. If the object is a LIST or other selectable object, the ‘#’ (number sign) can be used to insert the current “value” of the object, which is the number of the current selection starting at zero. The ‘@’ sign is similar, except that is inserts the numerical value of the current text, which must be either numerical or a mathematical expression itself.

If the object is a WINDOW, EDITWINDOW, other non-selectable object, or even another MATH object, then the object’s entire TEXT block is evaluated as an expression and the result inserted into the current MATH object’s expression. For a LIST object, only the text of the current selection is used. For instance, a simple tip calculator could include:

TEXT “( @tiprate * 0.01 + 1.0 ) * @subtotal”

Operators

MATH objects support a number of mathematical operators, including:

Floating Point Math

Addition (+)

Subtraction (-)

Multiplication (*)

Division (/)

Integer Math (fractional parts of operators are ignored)

Modulus (%) – A%B is the leftover part after repeatedly subtracting B from A

Comparison (return 1 if true, 0 if false)

Greater-Than (>)

Less-Than (<)

Greater-or-Equal (>=)

Less-or-Equal (<=)

Equal (==)

Not-Equal (!=)

Logical (returns 1 if true, 0 if false)

Logical And (&&)

Logical Or (||)

Logical Xor (^^)

Bit Math

Bitwise And (&)

Bitwise Or (|)

Bitwise Xor (^)

Special

Truncate Digits (\) – truncates a number to a specified decimal place

Round Digits (:) – similar to truncate, but rounds up or down to the nearest result

Duplicate on Stack ($) – for RPN math only, duplicates the last entry on the stack

Graphics Controls

DRAW (New in 4.0)

Description:

DRAW objects define a rectangular region whose contents are rendered according to simple graphics drawing commands. DRAW objects are typically used to draw graphs or charts in response to numerical input, or add extra graphic elements.

Required Fields:

X Y W H TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE COMPRESS LINKS CYCLE DELAY

Supported Styles:

INVERTED BOLD_BORDER NO_BORDER

Notes:

Powerful DRAW objects accept a series of graphics drawing commands that allow rendering of simple custom graphics or text into a folio. They can reference values in external objects, allowing them to be used to draw graphics that vary with user selections.

Commands in DRAW objects are inserted in a single multi-line TEXT block of the object definition. Each line begins with a command, followed by one or more numerical or text values needed by the command. The following commands are supported:

DLINE x1 y1 x2 y2

GLINE x1 y1 x2 y2

ELINE x1 y1 x2 y2

Draws a single-pixel line from coordinates (x1,y1) to (x2,y2), relative to the top-left corner of the object. The (D) option draws the line in the current foreground color (default black). The (E) option erases the line to the current background color (default white). The (G) option “grays” the line drawing it in a 50% dither pattern combining foreground and background colors.

DRECT x y width height corner_radius

GRECT x y width height corner_radius

ERECT x y width height corner_radius

Draws, erases, or “grays” a filled rectangle of the given dimensions. The corner of the rectangle can be set sharp or rounded using a radius of 0-4 pixels.

DFRAME x y width height corner_radius thickness

EFRAME x y width height corner_radius thickness

Draws or erases an unfilled rectangular frame (box) of the given dimensions. The radius of the corners can be set from 0-4 pixels, while the thickness of the frame can be set from 1-4 pixels.

DCHARS font x y text

ICHARS font x y text

ECHARS font x y text

Draws specified text to the screen. The (D) options draws the text black-on-white, while the (I) option draws it white-on-black. The (E) options simply erases the area where text should be.

FCOLOR r g b

BCOLOR r g b

Sets the current foreground or background colors. These options only function on a color device, and are ignored on monochrome units. They allow you to change the current foreground and background drawing colors, which default, respectively, to black and white. The colors are specified as three numerical values from 0 to 255, respectively setting the red, green, or blue component of the colors.

Sample colors:

White 255 255 255

Black 0 0 0

Red 255 0 0

Green 0 255 0

Blue 0 0 255

Orange 255 200 0

Yellow 255 255 0

Purple 200 0 255

Gray 150 150 150

To substitute values from other objects into the command list use the ‘@’ or ‘#’ signs followed by the name of the object to insert. The ‘@’ sign inserts the current text from the object or the numerical equivalent of that text if a number is needed. The ‘#’ sign returns the current “value” of the object instead, which is the zero-based number of the current selection in an outline, list, or table. The ‘#’ sign will reference the integer portion of a MATH object as well.

Example: DLINE 10 10 @end_x @end_y

DRAW objects expect numerical values only, and will not consistently evaluate expressions or external references with parameters on their own. When math operations are needed, DRAW objects should contain simple references to hidden MATH objects to perform the needed calculations.

POPDRAW (New in 4.0)

Description:

Pop-up version of a DRAW object.

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BH BTEXT X Y W H TEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE COMPRESS BFONT LINIKS

Supported Styles:

FILLED BOLD_BORDER NO_BORDER INVERTED SQUARE_BUTTON

Special Controls

GOTO

Description:

A button that closes the current folio and opens another one specified by name. Can also open a specified Doc file in TealDoc, movie in TealMovie.

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BH BTEXT TARGET

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE BFONT TARGET LINKS

Supported Styles:

FILLED SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

Linking to External folios:

TARGET, followed by the name of a folio in quotes specifies the folio to open when this control is tapped. Note that the TARGET must exactly match the name of the target folio as it appears in TealInfo, including capitalization and spacing.

Back Buttons:

Set TARGET to “$BACK” to create a button which will return back to a previous folio which may have linked to you.

Close Buttons:

A GOTO object with no TARGET field replaces the standard close button in the upper right corner of the folio.

External Programs:

TARGET can also specify the name of a TealDoc document or TealMovie movie, to launch. Other programs may be launched as well if they support a global find operation, and have the same CreatorID of the document, but irregular behavior may occur if the other program is not specifically expecting to be called externally in this manner. With TealDoc and TealMovie, TealInfo will be re-launched after the movie or document is closed. Documents in VFS are also supported if they are in the same folder as the current folio, though the launched application must be loaded into RAM. This will almost certainly not work inf VFS with non-TealPoint applications, however.

The TARGET field functions like standard TEXT fields, in that you can specify more than one TARGET field and use the LINK field to tie the launched document to an external selection.

POPFIND (New in 4.20)

Description:

Searches for an instance of a user-entered text string in a specified LIST or WINDOW.

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BH BTEXT TARGET

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE BFONT LINKS

Supported Styles:

INVERTED SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

Specify an object to search for in the TARGET field, preceded by an ‘@’ sign.

TARGET “@mydisplaylist”

When tapped, a POPFIND button brings up a dialog asking the user for the text to find. If the text is found in the LIST or WINDOW object specified by the TARGET field, the list or window will be scrolled to display the found text. If a list, that entry will be selected. POPFIND objects cannot find text across multiple objects or in text which is not currently loaded into a displayed object.

SETPAGE (New in 4.0)

Description:

TealInfo supports folios with up to 32 distinct pages. Displayed objects can be shown on any one or more of these pages or not at all. SetPage objects switch the current page when pressed.

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BH BTEXT

Optional Fields:

PAGES STYLE BFONT TARGET LINKS

Supported Styles:

FILLED SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

While all objects in a folio are present in memory and can be available for LINK operations and mathematical calculations, the SETPAGE objects determines which objects are displayed and respond to screen taps. A quoted value from 1 to 32, specified in a TARGET field, determines which page is activated when the button is tapped.

Individual objects determine which pages they appear on using the PAGES field, followed by which pages they appear on. By default, objects appear on page 1 only. If PAGES is used with no numbers, the object is hidden. SetPage objects can optionally contain PAGES fields as well.

TRES

Description:

A text resource

Required Fields:

TEXT

Optional Fields:

(none)

Supported Styles:

(none)

Notes :

TRES Text resources act as placeholder objects for holding TEXT used by other objects. They are handy to reduce file size when, say, a paragraph of text is repeatedly used in one or more objects.

TRES objects can also used to break-up TealInfo OBJECTS from exceeding the Maximum Object Text Size (See TEXT field for more info). There is about a 50-byte overhead for using a TRES object, so you won't save much space on only a few short lines of text.

TRES objects take a single field, the TEXT field. To reference a TRES object from another object, create a TEXT block which only contains the name of the TRES object preceeded by an ‘@’ sign.

TEXT “@resname”

TRES object can only replace an entire TEXT field. They cannot be combined or used to replace only a portion of another object’s TEXT field.

See the field descriptions in the next section for more details on how to use text resources.

RANDOM (New in 4.0)

Description:

A RANDOM object provides a random value to be used in math expressions or LINKS to other objects, and a button to update its value

Required Fields:

BX BY BW BH BTEXT MAXVAL

Optional Fields:

PAGES DEFAULT BFONT

Supported Styles:

FILLED SQUARE_BUTTON

Notes:

When set, the DEFAULT field specifies the current “value” of the RANDOM object when the folio is first opened. If missing, the object will be assigned a random value from 0 to MAXVAL-1 on opening. By setting DEFAULT to MAXVAL, the Random object can start up with a value with will not be repeated when the Randomize button is tapped. This is useful to say, display an instructional prompt such as “Tap the button below to get your fortune”. The PAGES field can be used with no parameters to hide the RANDOM object entirely if only the initial randomization feature is needed.

YEAR (New in 4.0)

MONTH (New in 4.0)

DAY (New in 4.0)

HOUR (New in 4.0)

MINUTE (New in 4.0)

Description:

The Year, Month, Day, Hour, and Minute objects do not have on-screen representations, and do not accept any fields or styles. Instead, they only contain a value, which can be used as LINKS to objects or values within MATH objects using the ‘#’ reference operator. The values are automatically updated, allowing for the creation of special calendars or clock folios.

Notes:

All objects return values starting at 0. Values of Year objects range from 0 for the year 2000, 1 for 2001, and so on. Month objects return values from 0 (January) to 11 (December). Day objects return the day of the month minus one, ranging from 0 (day 1) to 30 (day 31). Hour objects return values from 0 to 23, minute objects from 0 to 59.

PASSWORD

Description:

The presence of this object in a folio forces causes a passkey to be entered when the folio is opened. This can be used to generate password-protected folios for security or sales-demo purposes.

Required Fields:

KEY TEXT

Optional Fields:

STYLE

Supported Styles:

LOCKOUT REGISTER

Notes:

Used for Registration

The password to be entered is defined by the KEY field. When the LOCKOUT style is defined, the folio cannot be entered until a correct key is entered. When no LOCKOUT field exists, the password request can simply be dismissed. This allows the development of “shareware” folios, using the password screen as a registration reminder.

Saving Passkey

When the REGISTER style is defined, the password is saved once it's entered if the folio is in RAM. If the REGISTER style is not set, the password is asked-for every time. You can have multiple PASSWORD objects in a folio, but this is not particularly useful.

Decompile Protection

If you provide empty TEXT ("") and do not set the LOCKOUT style keyword, then the passkey will not be required to read the folio, but one will need to enter it before the folio can be decompiled using the UnTlInfo program in the TealInfo Dev Kit. In this use, the PASSWORD tag should appear at the top of the list to prevent decompiling the tags above it.

User-Specific Folios

If you provide empty TEXT ("") and do set the LOCKOUT style keyword, then the folio will only open on a Palm whose HotSync user name matches the passkey. Use this to make secure folios that cannot be used on other Palm if copied or beamed there.

GRAFFITI

Description:

Places the graffiti shift indicator on screen. It will appear on all pages of the folio.

Required Fields:

X Y

Appendix B - MkTlInfo Field Reference

The following list details the fields used to describe the objects in Appendix A. Fields requiring a numerical value or expression such as 20+5 are followed by "(value)". Fields requiring a text string in quotes are followed by "(string)". Lastly fields requiring specialized text keywords (not in quotes) are followed by "(Keyword)".

BFONT (value)

Defines the font to be used for an object's activation button.

BTEXT (string)

Defines text for a button or trigger.

BX (value)

Defines the pixel offset of a trigger object or button from the left edge of the screen.

BY (value)

Defines the pixel offset of a trigger object or button from the top edge of the screen.

BW (value)

Defines the width of a trigger object or button.

BH (value)

Defines the height of a trigger object or button.

CYCLE (value)

This field causes WINDOW objects to cycle through their list of TEXT fields. CYCLE indicates the number of TEXT blocks to cycle through, starting with whatever field would normally be shown. There must be at least that number of TEXT fields present. For image objects, CYCLE indicates the number of images in the database to cycle through, starting with the imaged defined by RECORD.

DELAY (value)

Indicated the rate at which cycling (if turned on) occurs. This value is in tenths of seconds between frames. Thus, a value of 10 will cause cycling a one change per second.

DATABASE (string)

Defines the name of a TealPaint image database to serve as a source for imagery.

DEFAULT (value)

Defines the initial value for a list, outline, or checkmark object (starting at 0)

DECIMALS (value)

This field fixes the displayed number of digits to the right of the decimal point for results of calculations from Math objects.

DIGITS (value)

This field fixes the total displayed number of digits for results of calculations from Math objects, padding with zeroes on the left if necessary to fill the number of digits. DIGITS and DECIMALS are mutually-exclusive.

FONT (value)

Defines the font to be used for an object's body text. 0=standard font, 1=bold font, 2=large font, 3-5=standard system symbol fonts, 6=large number font. Use a program like FontApp (available at www.palmgear.com) to preview the correct fonts.

KEY (keyword)

Defines the password that must be entered to unlock a folio with a PASSWORD object.

LINKS (value) (value)...

The LINKS field can be used to link the contents of an object to current selection in one or more other LIST, POPLIST, OUTLINE, or CHECKMARK objects, each of which is identified by its name that follows the object TAG. An object using the LINKS tag must follow all the objects listed in its list of links. More information appears in the next appendix.

MAXVAL (value) ...

The MAXVAL field specifies the largest number of items a variable list can contain. Use this field to make the math work out when linking to objects whose contents can change.

PAGES (value1) (value2)…

This field determines which pages (1-32) that the current object appears. By default, all object appear on page 1 only. Specifying PAGES with no following numbers hides an object on all pages.

RECORD (value)

Used for IMAGE objects, this defines the number of the image (starting at 0) to be shown.

STYLE (keyword) (keyword)...

Followed by one or more style keywords like ALIGN_LEFT and NO_BORDER, the STYLE field determines alignment and other miscellaneous properties for screen objects.

SX (value)

For image objects, defines the horizontal offset into the source image from which the displayed image is grabbed. Must be a multiple of 8

SY (value)

For image objects, defines the vertical offset into the source image from which the displayed image is grabbed.

TABS (value)

The TABS field sets tab stop positions within an object in pixels. Up to 63 tab positions may be specified, creating 64 columns. Each tab value represents the left edge of a column measured in pixels from the left edge of the object.

If you create columns wider than the width of the object, the object will appear with a horizontal scroll bar, which can be moved to view the full width of the window, list, or outline object.

TARGET (string)

Defines the folio to open when a GOTO button is pressed, or page number for a SETPAGE object. Multiple alternate TARGET fields can be used if the GOTO object is linked to other objects. In this use, the folio opened depends on the selection of the object (typically a list) linked-to.

TEXT (string) (string)...

Defines text for this object. Text items should be quoted, with text for separate columns appearing on the same line as separate quoted groups of words. To insert a quote in a string, use two quotes together ("") inside the string.

Text for multiline text objects (such as lists and outlines) should appear as more quoted text on subsequent lines without the TEXT field name. Only TEXT fields allow information for the field to follow on subsequent lines after the field name itself.

A backslash '\' character at the very end of a line indicates that the text on the next line is a continuation of the current one. It should be used to break up a line of text but have it treated as if it were entered as a very long line of text, such as for a paragraph to be auto-wrapped by a WINDOW object. MkTlInfo has a maximum input line length of 4000 characters.

There is a maximum total text size of 32k for all TEXT blocks in a single screen OBJECT. To overcome this limit, text can be externally-referenced to TRES objects, effectively splitting up the text into one OBJECT per TEXT block.

EXAMPLE:

TEXT

"This is a line of text."
"This is another line of text, followed by a blank line."
" "
"This is a paragraph of text, using the backslash " \
"character as a line-continuation marker so that " \
"TealInfo will know to re-wrap this block as if it " \
"were entered as a single line. Note the extra " \
"spaces at the end of each line."

X (value)

Defines the object's pixel offset from the left edge (0) of the screen.

Y (value)

Defines the object's pixel offset from the top edge (0) of the screen.

W (value)

Defines the width of the object in pixels (screen is 160 pixels wide).

H (value)

Defines the height of the object in pixels (screen is 160 pixels high).

Appendix C - MkTlInfo Style Reference

The following are keywords supported by the STYLE field, where applicable.

Text Alignment

ALIGN_RIGHT

Align all text to the right of its column.

ALIGN_CENTER

Center all text in its column.

ALIGN_LEFT_START

Align the first column to the left, ignoring the global setting.

ALIGN_RIGHT_START

Align the first column to the right, ignoring the global setting.

ALIGN_CENTER_START

Align the first column in the center, ignoring the global setting.

ALIGN_LEFT_END

Align the first column to the left, ignoring the global setting.

ALIGN_RIGHT_END

Align the first column to the right, ignoring the global setting.

ALIGN_CENTER_END

Align the first column in the center, ignoring the global setting.

Appearance

INVERTED

Draw the object with reversed colors (white text on black).

FILLED

RECT: Draw it filled-in

POPLIST: Draw its button filled-in

POPEDIT: Draw its button filled-in

POPIMAGE: Draw its button filled-in

GOTO: Draw its button filled-in

SQUARE_BUTTON

Draws an activation button with square corners, not default rounded ones

HORIZ_RULE

Draw horizontal ruling lines between rows.

VERT_RULE

Draw vertical ruling lines between columns. Note that vertical rules also have a subtle effect on the behaviour of tab characters in text. Without vertical rules, tabs function as they do in a word processor, advancing the cursor to the next column to the right. If text extends past a tab stop, then next tab brings the cursor to the next tab stop to the right. When vertical rules are turned on, however, text between tabs is treated as data in a cell, truncated if necessary to fit in the available space before the next tab stop, so data never overflows into a neighboring column.

NO_BORDER

Don't draw a border around the object.

BOLD_BORDER

Draw a thicker border around the object.

ROUND_BORDER

Draw a rounded border around the object.

User Interface

NO_SCROLL

Don't allow a scroll bar to appear and don't reserve pixels for one when word wrapping.

STROKE_FIND

Move the current selection to the next line whose first char matches an entered stroke.

BUTTON_SCROLL

Do page-by-page scrolling of a text object when scroll buttons are pressed. Default settings scrolls vertically with the Page Up/Down scrolling buttons. Using variations on the BUTTON_SCROLL keyword, it's possible to map combinations of the four applications buttons (Datebook, Address, To Do List, and Memopad) to vertical and/or horizontal scrolling for objects.

When mapped to a folio in this way, the default behavior of the application buttons used is temporarily overridden only while the folio is open, and for POPIMAGE, POPTEXT, and POPLIST objects, only when the popup is shown.

When overriding such buttons, it's important to indicate the new button mapping in the folio to avoid confusing the user.

Other Supported Variations include:

BUTTON_SCROLL_A

Vertically scroll with Page Up/Down buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_B

Vertically scroll with Date/Addr buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_C

Vertically scroll with Addr/ToDo buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_D

Vertically scroll with ToDo/Memo buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_E

Horizontally scroll with Page Up/Down buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_F

Horizontally scroll with Date/Addr buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_G

Horizontally scroll with Addr/ToDo buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_H

Horizontally scroll with ToDo/Memo buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_I

Horizontally scroll with Date/Memo buttons

BUTTON_SCROLL_J

Vertically Page Up/Down, Horizontally Date/Addr

BUTTON_SCROLL_K

Vertically Page Up/Down, Horizontally Addr/ToDo

BUTTON_SCROLL_L

Vertically Page Up/Down, Horizontally ToDo/Memo

BUTTON_SCROLL_M

Vertically Date/Addr, Horizontally ToDo/Memo

BUTTON_SCROLL_N

Vertically ToDo/Memo, Horizontally Date/Addr

BUTTON_SCROLL_O

Vertically Addr/ToDo, Horizontally Date/Memo

BUTTON_SELECT

Move the current selection up or down when scroll buttons are pressed. Default settings move the current select with the Page Up/Down scrolling buttons. Using variations on the BUTTON_SELECT keyword, it's possible to map combinations of the four applications buttons (Date, Address, To Do, and Memo) to scrolling movement as well. When mapping a single button to a POPLIST object, the object acts like the category selector in the standard application, cycling through available choices. As with the BUTTON_SCROLL variations, when overriding the application buttons, it's important to indicate the new button mapping in the folio to avoid confusing the user.

Other Supported Variations include:

BUTTON_SELECT_A

Change selection up/down with the Page Up/Down buttons

BUTTON_SELECT_B

Change selection up/down with the Date/Addr buttons

BUTTON_SELECT_C

Change selection up/down with the ToDo/Memo buttons

BUTTON_SELECT_D

Change selection down (looping) with the Date button

BUTTON_SELECT_E

Change selection down (looping) with the Addr button

BUTTON_SELECT_F

Change selection down (looping) with the ToDo button

BUTTON_SELECT_G

Change selection down (looping) with the Memo button

Special Styles

COMPRESS

The COMPRESS style forces an entire object to be stored compressed in the folio. Compression typically results in a 35-40% reduction in the size of the object. As temporary storage and decompression time is needed to work with compressed objects, compression should be used carefully to avoid performance or memory problems. In general, do not use compression for objects referenced by MATH expressions or that need to be drawn often. It is generally safe to compress popup objects, as they are used one at a time and are not accessed when they are not popped up.

LOCKOUT

PASSWORD: Require the key to be correct to enter the folio.

REGISTER

PASSWORD: Save a registration key once entered.

Appendix D - Products

Visit us online at http://www.tealpoint.com for our complete product line, including:

TEALAGENT ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softagnt.htm )

A PC-based Palm data converter, installer, and web clipper which formats local, network, and web-resident data into standard Palm formats.

TEALALIAS ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softalia.htm )

Makes the most of expansion memory, loading and launching apps and data from external SD cards.

TEALAUTO ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softauto.htm )

The complete automobile mileage, service, and expense tracking program, TealAuto, supports unmatched features and customization options.

TEALDOC ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softdoc.htm )

Powerful reader for Palm documents, e-books, and newspapers, supporting advanced features such as pictures, links, and flash cards.

TEALECHO ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softecho.htm )

Digital "ink" lets you see what you write, vastly increasing graffiti writing speed and accuracy. No more writing blind!

TEALGLANCE ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softglnc.htm )

Pop-up utility shows time, date, appointments and to-dos, and other useful information at power-up. See your day at a glance.

TEALINFO ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softinfo.htm )

A system for creating and displaying interactive databases, reference works, and mini-application folios; a handheld reference library.

TEALLAUNCH ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softlnch.htm )

A pop-up application launcher and mapping utility for launching apps and special functions from pen taps, graffiti strokes, or button presses.

TEALLOCK ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softlock.htm )

Secure automatic locking program with optional data encryption and numerous activation and customization options.

TEALMAGNIFY ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softlens.htm )

An ever-ready magnifying glass that works with most any program, TealMagnify saves your eyes when looking at tiny text.

TEALMASTER ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softmstr.htm )

A supercharged Hackmaster replacement with 100%-compatibility and enhanced stability, configuration, diagnostic and activation features.

TEALMEAL ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softmeal.htm )

A personal restaurant database and selection wizard. Keep a database of your favorites and easily find them by type or category.

TEALMEMBRAIN ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softmemb.htm )

Memory monitor and stack manager which helps identify conflicts and greatly improves stability running multiple hacks and drivers.

TEALMOVER ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softmovr.htm )

File management utility for beaming, deleting, renaming, and copying files both in memory and on VFS-compatible storage cards.

TEALMOVIE ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softmovi.htm )

High-quality multimedia system with video and synchronized sound.
Includes audio/video player and Windows AVI/Quicktime converter program.

TEALNOTES ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softnote.htm )

Insert freehand graphic "Sticky Notes" into memos, to-do lists, address book entries--almost anywhere you currently have editable text.

TEALPAINT ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softpnt.htm )

The most powerful paint and sketch app on Palm OS handhelds, featuring 16 tools, 16 patterns, 12 brushes, color, and desktop image conversion.

TEALPHONE ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softphon.htm )

A powerful Address Book replacement with superior interface, display, search, and indexing options.

TEALPRINT ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softprnt.htm )

The all-in-one text and graphic printing solution for Palm OS, supporting infrared, serial, and HotSync printing to any Windows printer.

TEALSCRIPT ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softscrp.htm )

An improved, tunable, Graffiti text recognition system that lets you modify the handwriting recognition to suit your handwriting.

TEALTOOLS ( http://www.tealpoint.com/softtool.htm )

Six pop-up desk accessories, including a calculator, clock/stopwatch, preferences panel, editing panel, memopad, and a file/backup manager.

Appendix E - Revision History

Release 4.32 – September 10, 2003

Fixed CYCLE command to work with POPUP objects
Fixed math calculation error dividing small numbers
Fixed number display error when overflowing decimal sizes
Fixed crash on OS3.0 handhelds in 4.31

Release 4.30 - June 26, 2003

Added auto-selection of list or table item when clicking on imbedded hyperlink
Increased precision on 32-bit divide operations with large divisors
Fixed category poplist display under OS5
Fixed odd linking behavior and instability with TABLE objects

Fixed folio "back" button functionality on nested link calls
Fixed folio "back" button functionality on VFS cards
Fixed missing Memory Stick files/folders on Sony NX70
Fixed incorrect auto selection of entire text field in popedit objects under OS5

Release 4.21 October 22, 2002

· Fixed linking between folios with imbedded text links

· Added support for TREO jog dial in selecting files

· Added support for Arm-based Palm input controller

Release 4.20 August 29, 2002

· Added new "POPFIND" objects

· Added support for "BACK" buttons (set TARGET to "$BACK")

· Added support for untargeted INPUT buttons for STROKE_FIND (set TARGET to letter to seek)

· Removed flash of folio list when transitioning between linked folio

· Increased object reference maximum nesting level from 5 to 15 levels

Release 4.10 May 21, 2002

· Added color icons to list view

· Added support for OS5.0 high-resolution program and launcher icons

· Added masking of file extensions (.pdb and .prc) in SD card filenames

· Updated MkTlInfo Utility to warn of downward referencing LINKS (should be up)

· Fixed double-tapping of folder names in card file manager

· Fixed centering of button text with small buttons rounding up ½ pixel

Release 4.01 March 7, 2002

· Fixed label display for POPOUTLINE objects

· Fixed display of full screen POPIMAGE objects

Release 4.00 February 1, 2002

· Added support for displaying folios directly off SD/MMC/CF flash cards

· Added preferences option to remember category

· Added preferences option to remember device

· Added support for MATH objects for calculating floating point values

· Added support hidden objects and multiple-page folios via new SETPAGE object

· Added DRAW objects for custom graphic charts and rendering

· Added TABLE and POPTABLE objects

· Added POPOUTLINE objects

· Added support for POPMERGE text-merge objects

· Added support for PRINTMERGE printing through TealPrint

· Added RANDOM object

· Added YEAR object

· Added MONTH object

· Added DAY object

· Added HOUR object

· Added MINUTE object

· Added INPUT objects to make calculator-style buttons

· Added support for text compression

· Added support for launching TealMovies and other external databases

· Added compatibility with future PalmOS versions and devices

· Updated to work with folios containing graphics under OS 4.0

· Fixed passkey functionality on CLIE

· Fixed occasional crash launching TealDoc from TealInfo folio

· Fixed display of images imbedded into folios

Appendix F - Credits

Manual by Vince Lee, Tex Tennison, and Sara Houseman

Appendix G - Contact Info

TealInfo by TealPoint Software

TealPoint Software

TealInfo Registration

454 Las Gallinas Ave #318

San Rafael, CA 94903-3618

We look forward to hearing from you.

Please visit us at www.tealpoint.com, or email us at contact@tealpoint.com.

Appendix H - Registering

Registering allows you to use the program past the 30 day expiration period and turns off registration reminders.

Currently, you may register by snail mail or online with a credit card and a secured server from the store where you downloaded the software. For the first option, send the following information on a sheet of paper separate from your payment.

· Product Name

· E-Mail Address

· HotSync User ID (Pilot Name Required for Passkey generation. It can be found on the main screen of the HotSync application on the Pilot as "Welcome ________" or in the corner on a PalmIII or higher)

· Check (drawn off a US Bank) or Money Order for ($16.95 US). No international checks or money orders please.

Appendix I - Disclaimer

We at TealPoint Software are committed to providing quality, easy-to-use software. However, this product is provided without warranty and the user accepts full responsibility for any damages, consequential or otherwise, resulting from its use.

This archive is freely redistributable, provided it is made available only in its complete, unmodified form with no additional files and for noncommercial purposes only. Any other use must have prior written authorization from TealPoint Software.

Unauthorized commercial use includes, but is not limited to:

§ A product for sale.

§ Accompanying a product for sale.

§ Accompanying a magazine, book or other publication for sale.

§ Distribution with "Media", "Copying" or other incidental costs.

§ Available for download with access or download fees.

This program may be used on a trial basis for 30 days. The program will continue to function afterwards. However, if after this time you wish to continue using it, please register with us for the nominal fee listed in the program.

Thank you.

CUSTOMER LICENSE AGREEMENT

YOU ARE ABOUT TO DOWNLOAD, INSTALL, OPEN OR USE PROPRIETARY SOFTWARE OWNED BY TEALPOINT SOFTWARE, INC. CAREFULLY READ THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS END USER LICENSE BEFORE DOING SO, AND CLICK BELOW THAT YOU ACCEPT THESE TERMS.

1. License. You are authorized to use the Software Product owned and developed by TealPoint Software, Inc. on a single hand-held computing device on a trial basis for thirty (30) days. If after 30 days you wish to continue using it, you are required to register with TealPoint and pay the specified fee. This license is not exclusive and may not be transferred. You may make one copy of the Software for back-up and archival purposes only.

2. Ownership. You acknowledge that the Software Product is the exclusive property of TealPoint Software, Inc, which owns all copyright, trade secret, patent and other proprietary rights in the Software Product.

3. Restrictions. You may NOT: (a) decompile or reverse engineer the Software Product; (b) copy (except as provided in 1 above) sell, distribute or commercially exploit the Software product; or (c) transfer, assign or sublicense this license.

4. Disclaimer of Warranty and Liability. TEALPOINT MAKES NO WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, AS TO THE ACCURACY, COMPLETENESS OR FUNCTIONING OF THE LICENSED SOFTWARE, INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION, WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR OF FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, ALL OF WHICH TEALPOINT DISCLAIMS. ALL LIABILITY IS DISCLAIMED AND TEALPOINT ASSUMES NO RESPONSIBILITY OR LIABILITY FOR LOSS OR DAMAGES OF ANY KIND, DIRECT OR INDIRECT, INCIDENTIAL, CONSEQUENTIAL OR SPECIAL, ARISING OUT OF YOUR USE OF THE LICENSED SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY THEREOF.

5. Termination. You may terminate this Agreement at any time by destroying your copy(ies) of the Software Product. The Agreement will also terminate if you do not comply with any of its terms and conditions, at which time you are required to destroy your copy(ies) of the Software Product and cease all use.

6. Applicable Law. This Agreement is governed by the laws of the State of California.

TealInfo User's Manual

Table of Contents